Sunday, 5 June 2011

BMSS ‘strips’ NBMM president of ‘all powers’

Courtesy: The Sentinel

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, June 3: The Bishnupriya Manipuri Suraksha Samiti (BMSS) that was formed at the national mass convention of the Bishnupriya Manipuris held recently at Patharkandi in Karimganj district has “stripped” Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Mahasabha (NBMM) president Dr Devendra Sinha of “all powers”. According to BMSS president Anil Singha Gautam, except convening of NBMM sessions, that too, in consultation with the BMSS, Dr Sinha will have no powers as NBMM president forthwith. The BMSS has also set August 15, 2011 as its deadline for the convention of the next NBMM session.

Talking to this reporter from Diphu, Singha Gautam said: “In order to protect the Bishnupriya Manipuri community from the sort of autocracy let loose by Dr Devendra Sinha, the Patharkandi national convention of the community held with advocate Bireswar Sinha, Birendra Kumar Sinha and Mangal Babu Sinha in the presidium formed the BMSS.” The president of the BMSS is Singha Gautam and the general secretary is Krishnabhallab Sinha. The convention, according to Singha Gautam, expressed its lack of confidence on the leadership of Dr Sinha, who has been accused of maligning the image of the NBMM, the premier body of the community. The role being played by Dr Sinha, according to Singha Gautam, is autocratic, demolishing democracy and in violation of the NBMM constitution. “The convention felt that most of the decisions taken by the central committee of the NBMM are manipulated,” Singha Gautam said, and added that the convention warned the NBMM chief not to meddle in the affairs of the Bishnupriya Manipuri Development Council (BMDC) through the “back door”. The convention also warned Dr Sinha of any misadventure to “replace” the list of “BMDC members” before any elections, and said that any such step would not be tolerated by the Bishnupriya Manipuri community.

The Patharkandi convention, according to Singha Gautam, congratulated Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi for making it to Dispur for the third consecutive term. It hoped that the Bishnupriya Manipuris, a minority community, would remain safe and secured at the hands of Gogoi. The convention also thanked former MLA Kartik Sena Sinha for his contribution to the formation of the BMDC. The convention condoled the death of Nrityacharya Nilmadhab Mukherjee.

Articles that may interest you:

Life History of Pt. Nilmadhab Sinha
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Bisarei — Bishnupriya Manipuri Search Engine