Monday, 16 May 2011

Congress wins 13 out of 15 seats in Barak Valley

Courtesy: The Sentinel

From our Staff Reporter

SILCHAR, May 13: Keeping abreast with the rest of the State, the Congress in Barak Valley recorded a thumping as well as unbelievable victory by winning 13 out of 15 seats. In 2006, the Congress could not even win a single seat in Karimganj, but this time the ruling party, in spite of acute intra-party fight, won all the five seats. Even in Cachar, where the Congress had four MLAs, had bettered its tally by winning six out seven seats. On the other hand, Hailakandi could retain its tally of two intact, but this time Rahul Roy, who represented Algapur in the State Assembly, has lost the battle to Sahidul Alom Choudhury of the AGP. Other prominent leaders who had tasted defeat included Mission Ranjan Das, the leader of the BJP in the Assembly, and his party colleague Parimal Shuklabaidya of Dholai. Two more MLAs of the last Assembly also were defeated. They were Kartik Sena Sinha and Anwarul Haque. Prominent among the winners were two Ministers Gautam Roy and Dinesh Prasad Goala, two Parliamentary Secretaries Ajit Singh and Siddeque Ahmed, Silchar Municipal Board chairperson Susmita Dev, Officer on Special Duty to the State Irrigation Department Anamul Haque, Dr Rumi Nath, who got the nomination in a last minute drama.

In North Karimganj, Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha of the Congress polled 45,027 votes where the outgoing and four time MLA Mission Ranjan Das could garner only 27,257. Abdul Muktadir Choudhury of the AIUDF polled 23,497 votes. In South Karimganj, Siddeque Ahmed of the ruling party won the seat by polling 45,336 whereas his nearest rival Iqbal Hussain of Trinamool Congress got 22,266 and Sipra Gun of the BJP got 20,443 votes. In Ratabari, former MLA Kripanath Mallah of the Congress won the seat polling 33,034 votes. His nearest contestant Nikhil Shuklabaidya polled 20,609 and Priyada Mallik got 17,499. In Badarpur, Congress candidate Jamaluddin Ahmed won the seat with his 35,843. Helal Ahmed of AIUDF finished second with 28,465 and BJP candidate Biswarup Bhattacharjee came down to the third position by polling 24,567.

In Katlicherra, Excise Minister Gautam Roy polled 62,315 votes to register his sixth consecutive win. AIUDF candidate Jyotish Dev was second by polling 32,001. The BJP candidate Joydeepa Paul got just 1,800 votes. In Middle Hailakandi, veteran Congress leader Abdul Muhib Majumder made a comeback in the state politics by winning the seat. He polled 37,030 votes. His nearest rival was BJP’s Subrata Nath, who got 27,983. The outgoing MLA Salimuddin of the AIUDF finished third with 17,207 votes. In Algapur, former Minister Sahidul Alom Choudhury polled 57,331 votes defeating Rahul Roy who got 42,116. BJP’s Sudip Dev could manage only 3,759 votes.

In Silchar Susmita Dev outclassed BJP’s Rajdeep Roy. Susmita got 56,278 votes where Rajdeep had to remain content with 42,328. CPM candidate finished third with just 5,826 votes.

In Lakhipur, Dinesh Prasad Goala won for the seventh time. He polled 51,950 whereas BJP’s Reena Singh got 21,887. In Borkhola, Dr Rumi Nath could keep her fort intact by polling 44,443 votes where the former Minister Misbahul Islam Laskar got 33,322 votes. In Sonai, Udharband and Dholai too the Congress had won but the details were not yet published.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Bisarei — Bishnupriya Manipuri Search Engine