Wednesday, 24 November 2010

Geetiswami Birth Anniversary Celebrated in Guwahati


By Pratibha Sinha, Guwahati

The 114th Birth Anniversary (Janma Jayanti) of Geetiswami Gokulananda, the noted social reformer of the Bishnupriya Manipuri community, was celebrated on 21st November, 2010 (Sunday) at Shilpagram Auditorium (near Kalakhetra), Panjabari, Guwahati. Gokulananda was born on 26th November, 1886 in a village called Madhavpur of Bhanugachh in Bhanubil, Bangladesh. As informed by the Geetiswami Gokulananda Janma Jayanti Udjapan Committee, though the birthday of Gokulananda falls on 26th November but due to some unavoidable circumstances they decided to celebrate the birth anniversary of Geetiswami on 21st November, 2010, one week ahead in the memory of the great soul and the invaluable services rendered by Geetiswami for the society.

The celebration started with a welcome song by Gautam Sinha and his team. Sushil Kumar Sinha, President of the Committee welcomed everyone and gave his valuable speech highlighting on the life sketch of Geetiswami. Other chief speakers who spoke on the occasion were Hemkanti Sinha, Jogendra Kumar Sinha, Prof. Kamini Sinha, Dr. Smriti Kumar Sinha, Uday Sinha/Secretary General of Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Mahasabha, Rebati Mohan Sinha(Mumbai), Madhusudan Sinha. Col. Bijay Sinha as Working President and Ravi Sinha as General Secretary of the committee also spoke on the occasion and smoothly hosted the programme.

On this day Jogendra Kumar Sinha was honoured with the “GEETISWAMI AWARD” for his life time achievement in the field of social service and literary work, the honour was given by Hemkanti Sinha on behalf of the Udjapon Committee. He was born on 11 October, 1940 at village Machughat. His literary works are in the form of about 23 books written in Bishnupriya Manipuri on various subjects and other articles, poems, stories etc in various magazines. He has been in the service of the society since 1967 in various capacities in the Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Sahitya Parishad, Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Sanskriti Parishad, Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Mahasabha and Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Bhashagyan Pariksha Parishad. At present, he is the President of Sri Sri Bhubaneswar Sadhuthakur Sevashram of Silchar. He was an educationist by profession and retired from service in the year 1983. His contributions in other fields are exemplary.

Three other personnels Jyoti Prakash Sinha(for social service and literary works) from Silchar, Col. Bijay Sinha(for literary works and social service) and Chandrakanti Sinha(for cultural, composing lyrics, singing and social service) were honoured with the “NINGOR KHUTTOL” (Gift of Honour) by DILs Debojyoti Sinha(Mumbai) on behalf of DILS Association for their dedicated contributions in the said fields.

Meritorious students were also awarded with the certificate of appreciation, trophy and cash prizes for their outstanding performance in the academic session of 2009-10.

Three books written in Bishnupriya Manipuri named “JANGAL MAHAL”-collection of stories written by Jyoti Prakash, “MAATNEI MANUR YAKNAPA NEI” – collection of satirical stories written by Rasaraj and “LAKSHMI DEVIR PANCHALI” – hymns composed by Shashanka Sinha were released by Uday Sinha, Secretary General of Nikhil Bishnupriya Manipuri Mahasabha. SMARANIKA 2010 – a souvenir was also released on the occasion.

On the occasion, a registered socio welfare non-government society named “MEINGAL” formed in March, 2010 at Guwahati released the website of the society as Mihir Sinha, Vice Chairman of the society announced for “MEINGAL Scholarship-2010” to award with one-time scholarship of Rs.5000/- to the students from Bishnupriya Manipuri Community who have passed HSLC Board Exam-2010 with 60% and above. The Scholarship will be awarded to one student only from each district of Assam (Kamrup, Cachar, Karimganj & Hailkandi districts only) and one from Meghalaya State. Details are available on the website. Sanjib Sinha, Secretary General and Krishna Kanta Sinha, General Secretary(Organising) were also present on the occasion. Bijit Sarma is the Chairman and Santosh Sinha is Vice Chairman of Meingal.

Mihir Sinha on behalf of MEINGAL also announced the release of another website named BM Books Gallery Online (Bishnupriya Manipuri Sahitya Sangraha) - designed & compiled by Pratibha Sinha. MEINGAL is promoting the site as one of the project activity of the society with extending necessary supports required. The website is a web-based collection of Bishnupriya Manipuri literary works done where information of books published by Bishnupriya Manipuri writers in different years and on various subjects are available.

Other attractions on the occasion were cultural programme performed by different artists from the city and outside. Numbers of people from Guwahati participated in the programme to celebrate the day wholeheartedly.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Bisarei — Bishnupriya Manipuri Search Engine